Scotland County Aging Advisory Council

Aging Advisory Council Mission Statement

The purpose of the Scotland County Aging Advisory Council is to advocate, communicate, educate and create respect for adults 55 and older.

The Aging Advisory Council is a collaborative of all agencies serving older adutls and citizen board members.


Recommend funding for Home and Community Care Block Grant

Number Please Brochure

Disseminate information to the community on services and programs that are for or affect older adults.  


Ann Kurtzman, Chairman

Kathie Cox, Vice Chairman


Citizen Members


Mrs. Katherine Allen

Mrs. Loretta Baranek

Ms. Leatha Garrison

Mr. Andrew Kurtzman

Ms. Lorraine Prince

Mrs. Sue Shulz

Mr.   Robert Ussery

Mrs. Cordella Walker

Rev. Howard Whitehurst, Senior Tarheel Legislator

East Laurinburg

Ms. Renee Snipes

Laurel Hill

Mrs. Freddie Davis


Mr. William Mathews, Past Chairman

Mr. John Lewis

Mr. Frank Scott

Ms. Peggy Smith

Agencies Serving Older Adults

Area Agency on Aging, Region N, David Richardson, Administrator

Cooperative Extension, Randy Wood, Director

Interim Health Care

Scotland Memorial Library, Leon Gyles, Librarian

Dept of Social Services, Kimberly McRae, Older Adult Administrator

Eastpointe,  Mental Health Educator

Scotland Place Senior Ctr/Parks & Recreation Vacant, Director 

Emergency Services and Transportation Roylin Hammond, Director

Health Department, Kathie Cox, Health Educator

County Administration, Ann Kurtzman